top of page
  • Writer's pictureYaelle Amar

Secret Passageway

Updated: Mar 4, 2023




I'm walking in circles in the bedroom. I'm stuck inside the house and it's so hot in here. I get out of the bedroom and make my way to the kitchen. Our hallway is very long. In the kitchen I lay down on the ceramic tiles, it's the coldest place in the house. No one else is home, they all went to the party. They didn't ask me if I wanted to come but I don't give a damn. I hate these people. I look in the fridge if there's some strawberry ice cream left. I take out the box but it slips from my fingers and lands on the tiles. It was too cold to hold. As I bend down to pick it up, I notice something. The wallpaper seems to be coming off on a small portion of the wall, next to the fridge. Maybe I could glue it back? I lift it up to take a look. The wallpaper is moist and slides right off. It's so smooth and fluid that I can't help but rip the whole thing off the wall. It's just like unwrapping a gift. I'll just tell them I found it that way. But there's something strange under the wallpaper. I rip it off a little more. Now I can see it more clearly, there's an opening: it's a little door. It's tiny, the size to fit a dog maybe. I could probably fit in if I wanted to.


I try to push it open. There's no handle. It's really hard, maybe someone sealed it? Maybe there was another part of the house before we moved in? I don't give up, I want to see what's on the other side. I take a spoon and stick it in the little crack of the door, then I push it really hard. It cracks open: I'm a genius. Inside is a small tunnel. It's extremely narrow and the ceiling is low. It's completely dark, like a gallery traveling inside the earth. There must have been a purpose for this tunnel a long time ago, and I want to know what it was. I stick my hand in. The feeling inside is different from the rest of the house: it's really cold in there and at the same time a little humid. I get down on my knees, but I'll need to be closer to the ground if I want to get in. So I completely lay down and then I push myself forward with my elbows. Now half of my body is in, I just need to bring my legs. My shoulders are rubbing against the walls of the tunnel and the narrowness of the place quickly becomes suffocating. My whole body is in now. I suddenly freeze: can I push myself out of here? I take a deep breath, no need to worry. If I can go forward, surely I'll be able to go backward. After pushing with my elbows for a few minutes in the darkness, the wall opens up to my left. There's a left turn in the tunnel. I take the turn and now the ceiling rises up. I can stand up if I bend my head a little. There's just enough space for one person, however, the walls now get narrower so I need to walk sideways to fit in. It seems to me that I'm walking in a gallery parallel to the main hallway of the house. What in the world is this place?


The walls get more and more humid as I go further down. Drops fall from the ceiling and I try not to think about where this water comes from. I hear strange sounds, almost as if the wind was blowing but I can feel no wind. In the middle of the darkness, I can now discern a tiny little glow at the end of the tunnel. I'm starting to have difficulties breathing and I know that I should be getting back, but an irrepressible feeling wants me to see where this light comes from. As I get closer it becomes brighter and I realize that the glow is a reflection on a glass window. At the very end of the tunnel is a small glass cabinet, the type that they use in museums to display antiques. I can tell there's something in the display but it's very hard to see. I push my head against the glass and cover the corner of my eyes with my hands. There are three little glass objects inside the display, they have strange shapes. They almost look like deformed animals.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page